Each scholarship application is evaluated on academic, extracurricular, potential, and personal attributes by a committee comprised of individuals from the community, state, and around the country.

The number of new scholarships granted each year is determined by the budget approved by the Foundation’s Board of Directors.

All applicants will be notified of the Scholarship Selection Committee’s decision by May 15th.

The James W. and Betty Dye Foundation Scholarship Selection Committee is solely responsible for the review of the applications and the selection of any recipients. Each application is evaluated on its own merits for academic excellence, school and community involvement, and potential for future success. The Scholarship Program is an equal opportunity program and does not discriminate on the basis of race, religion, color, sex or disability. The number of new Scholarships awarded each year is dependent upon the number and quality of applications received and budgetary requirements of the Foundation. The submission of an application does not guarantee that a Scholarship will be awarded, received, or continued and high schools are not limited to or awarded a specific number of scholarships each year.